|How Much Does Insurance Cost? - www.WizardInsurance.com
How Much is DUI Insurance - Frequently Asked Questions
Family Owned Insurance & Florida Independent Agents
|"Welcome, thanks for calling" - Wally
|Florida Auto Plus Insurance Agency
|What are the requirements that need to be met for a DUI policy?
As of October 1, 2007, a person convicted of DUI in Florida is required to maintain increased limits of vehicle
accident liability insurance. The minimum amounts are $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident of Bodily
Injury Liability and $50,000 of Property Damage Liability. A single combined limit of $300,000 is also
acceptable. The liability coverage must be provided by a Florida insurance policy. The policy may be a car
insurance policy, motorcycle policy, or an operator's policy where there is no vehicle to insure. The flexibility to
comply with a variety of policy types, and as policyholder or additional driver, enables the convicted driver to
secure a well suited policy. For example, If you are on a strict budget, a policy insuring a scooter may be as
little as $100.00 for the entire year. Another good example would be a youthful operator finding a lower rate as
an additional driver on their parents policy.
How quickly can I reinstate my license after I purchase a policy?
After buying a qualified insurance policy, proof of such needs to be submitted to the state of Florida. The
mechanism by which this is accomplished is known as FR44 filing. The FR44 form (certificate), is submitted by
the insurance company to Florida's Bureau of Financial Responsibility. This is the same government agency
that accepts proof of Florida SR22 insurance. This is also the place where individuals can seek assistance in
collecting bad debts. This Bureau has the authority to suspend a driver license of an individual who owes a
debt, for example back child support. The Bureau can place a lien on the license of a person who owes a debt
which then has to be satisfied, before that license can be reinstated.
As required by law, proof of a qualified DUI insurance policy must be transmitted electronically within 15 days
after a policy begins and the process is commonly referred to as Florida FR44 filing. Companies typically
transmit to the bureau at point of sale, and the DMV database will update within 24 to 48 hours allowing for
license reinstatement. Some companies, will generate a "hard copy" for the policyholder after purchase, and
some clerks at local DMV offices will reinstate a license when presented the certificate in person. Since
insurance companies automatically send the certificate to the State, it takes a special request to have one
issued directly to the policyholder. It is usually typed, and then faxed or emailed, and typically takes up to 2
hours to get done. If you are in a hurry, find out before you buy a policy, or even before you get a rate quote, if
a certificate would be immediately available from that company.
How much will the DUI insurance policy cost?
There is a $25.00 filing fee for all Florida DUI insurance policies. However, the overall cost for insurance is
determined by a host of variables that are unique to each policy (location, age, history, vehicle type etc.). The
least expensive way to secure a DUI insurance policy is with a scooter or moped because these types of
vehicles inflict little damage when involved in an accident. Also, their liability coverage, unlike car and truck
policies, does not transfer to any other vehicle the policyholder may be driving. The cost for such a policy
typically ranges from $100.00 to $400.00 for the entire year. This lower cost option is not available for drivers
that require an interlock device.
There is some good news for DUI drivers when it comes to the cost for a policy. Insurance companies give
substantial discounts to policyholders that purchase high liability limits and for paying policies in full. Even
though a DUI driver is mandated to carry high limits and to pay their policy in full these discounts are extended
to them. Also, since October 2007 when Florida began to separate DUI drivers from all other high risk drivers,
insurance companies have discovered that this risk class has favorable loss ratios. Since car insurance is
generally very competitive, companies are always looking for ways to reduce rates to attract new customers.
With low loss ratios for this risk group companies have kept rates low.
Can I cancel my DUI insurance policy?
As of May 4th 2012 all qualified DUI insurance policies are not allowed to be cancelled. Companies may only
cancel during the first 30 days while determining eligibility. Naturally, there are many legitimate reasons for
cancelling a policy such as, moving to another state, selling your vehicle, getting married, etc., and there is a
way to cancel these policies. An endorsement to remove the FR44 filing from an existing policy can be
submitted, and then that policy can be cancelled. Keep in mind that if the DUI insurance requirement is still in
effect, the cancelled policy must be replaced or the driver license will be suspended. When canceling, you may
be asked to provide a recorded sworn statement indicating your reason and how you intend to continue
compliance. Naturally, when your compliance period ends during the policy period, all the restrictions may be
removed from that policy.
Cancelling a DUI policy by using an endorsement to first remove the FR44 filing is serious business, as
evidenced by some companies utilizing sworn statements to be kept on file. A word of caution to those drivers
who may be tempted to trick the system; DON’T DO IT. Anyone finally getting their license reinstated after a
conviction should not risk serious further consequences by being too clever for their own good.
Are companies offering a monthly payment plan for the DUI insurance policy?
Because DUI policies cannot be cancelled, insurance companies will require payment in full to begin a policy.
Unlike the canceling provision, requiring payment in full is not a state mandate. Since companies are not at
liberty to cancel a policy for non-payment, they generally will not offer payment plans. However, there are a few
companies in limited circumstances that will allow a payment plan. One company recently began to offer
instalment payment plans for all their renewing DUI policies. Keep in mind companies provide a substantial
discount when paying in full and the DUI requirement does not eliminate that discount. There can only be one
filing per driver, however, a driver can have more than one policy and this creates additional flexibility. For
example, a policyholder complying with a fully paid lower cost scooter policy, can buy a more expensive car
insurance policy, without the FR44 filing, and be able to make payments.
Another word of caution here for DUI drivers. Any vehicle that is owned and registered by the convicted driver
must be listed on the FR44 form. Insurance companies will only be able to list all your vehicles on a policy that
is issued by them and that has the required liability limits. Attempting to bypass the system can potentially
cause very serious consequences. Again, don’t jeopardize your license after all the grief you went through to
get it reinstated.
How will I know when my DUI requirement is no longer needed?
The best way to find out is to contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles and have them tell you the
exact date your requirement ends. I recommend contacting them by email at https://www3.flhsmv.gov/DDL/CQS/
so you have their response in writing. When you are within 60 days of ending the requirement you may carry
the 100/300/50 liability without having to actually file the FR44 and you will be considered in compliance. This
option can be particularly helpful when starting a new policy as payment plans, driver exclusions, and all other
options can be exercised.
Every convicted driver receives a letter from the DMV at the onset of their DUI insurance requirement which has
the initial date of compliance. It is three years from the date in that letter which provides the most accurate
guide as to when the DUI requirement is no longer needed. this letter is very important in establishing the time
period. There is often a lot of confusion as to when the start date is; the date the ticket was issued; the
conviction date, etc...
It's easy to remember!
1 877.WIZ.AUTO (949-2886)
|Family Owned For 20+ Years
|How Much is DUI Insurance - Frequently Asked Questions
|► Click on pics above ▲ or links below ▼ for more info ◄